Rotten Sound / Ulcerate gig

12 Apr

I arrived at The Winchester in Newton, Auckland at about 10pm, just in time to catch Ulcerate play their last 4 or so songs.
I’ve wanted to see these guys for ages, I found it a bit difficult to get into but the fast bits were wicked, and those drums!
After the set I shook the vocalist/bassists hand and had a brief yak, I can see why they are so popular: Gorguts worship, part of the conversation was about it being the first time either of us had been to The Winchester ha ha I quite liked the venue, it was just a big cube with a few tables dotted here and there, the sound desk was bang in the middle way at the back and the bar was off to the side [which I don’t ever bother with] the stage was in the corner and quite low, Keijo got into the crowd at one point for some 1:1 face to face barking, fffriggin’ awesome!

Man I had to walk all the way there so when I got into the place I just turned to sweat, grim!
And I realised I spent about 20 minutes standing right next to most of Rotten Sound ha ha

Rotten sound hit the stage just after 11pm and they hit it hard, super heavy hell speed Grindcore is excellent live!
I think about 1 or 2 songs into their set the power for the guitar or bass shat itself so we had to put up with some fairly hilarious banter in the interim, actually the whole set was peppered with comedy [How many Finnish Grindcore bands does it take to change a light bulb?] Rotten Sound are the funnest band I’ve seen live so far, all smiling and looked happy to be there 8D

I counted about 100 people there, not bad for a Thursday night
The whole gig was filmed too I think? I saw some camera set up near the stage and some bloke was fiddling with it, plus everyone had their ‘smartphones’ out filming etc [oh-puh-leese!] the guitarist had a decent camera too [the one with the Unsane t-shirt]

It was all over by midnight, we had a 1 or 2 [?] song encore

$40 door sale tickets [$35 online early if you didn’t muck about, oops]
$5 for a sew on patch
No Rotten Sound CDs [left?!] on the merch table but Ulcerate [and I think Graves, one of the support bands, the other support band were Carnal] had some CDs and vinyl, $20 for a CD though ouch.

I highly recommend seeing these guys live, pummelled by Grindcore, what a way to go.
Wellington, you’re in for a treat and be fully prepared to ‘participate’ too ha ha ha \m/

rotten sound patch

“Grindcore is fast enough” –Me

Guest comments are enabled

